9th ESO–ESMINT–ESNR Stroke Winter School

Berne, Switzerland

from 01/02/2022 until 04/02/2022

9th ESO–ESMINT–ESNR Stroke Winter School

1st–4th February 2022

Acute interdisciplinary stroke treatment course for young

stroke physicians and neuroradiologists




The primary goal of the ESO–ESMINT–ESNRwinter

school on acute interdisciplinary stroke

treatment is to join young stroke physicians and

young neuroradiologists in order to enhance

interdisciplinary management of patients with

acute ischaemic stroke. A series of concentrated

high quality teaching sessions and courses on

acute stroke management will be offered.

Secondary goals of the winter school are to

perform «hands-on» courses for interventional

neuroradiologists and special teaching sessions

for stroke physicians.

The winter school is unique in its kind. Combining

plenum sessions, discussions and technical

training, it will foster improvement in treatment

of cerebrovascular disease and advance research

in this complex field, leading to technical


Target audience

Young stroke physicians and neuroradiologists

with a major interest in cerebrovascular diseases

are eligible. Applicants should currently be in training

in a European teaching hospital that treats

acute stroke patients. The organizing committee

will select 25 interventional neuroradiologists

and 25 young stroke physicians based on their

• application

• country of origin

• the expected benefit to the individual and

to his/her stroke unit and country

Since the main aim of the course is to enhance

interdisciplinary stroke management, pairs of

neuroradiologists and stroke physicians from

one institution will be preferred. If there are

available places, applications from non- European

countries and single applicants may be considered

by the organizers. The final decision about

the participants remains with the local organisation


Scientific content

A daily teaching program in English by experts

in all subspecialties of acute stroke treatment will

be held. There will be joint sessions for neuroradiologists

and stroke physicians in the morning.

In the afternoon there will be special courses for

stroke physicians and «hands-on» courses for

interventional neuroradiologists. Teachers will be

local, national and international experts in this or

related fields.

Tentative core faculty

The local organizing committee will form a tentative

core faculty with representatives of all three

participating organizations, i.e. European Stroke

Organization (ESO), European Society of Minimal

Invasive Neurological Therapy (ESMINT), and

European Society of Neuroradiology (ESNR).

Course venue


University Hospital Bern

Freiburgstrasse 3

CH-3010 Berne, Switzerland


The costs of the ESO–ESMINT–ESNR Winter School

will be borne by the organizers. However, to cover

a part of costs for board and lodging participants

will have to pay a share of € 400. Furthermore,

participants have to cover their travel expenses,

their activities outside the official program, and any

other personal expenses during their stay.

Deadline for application: 14 November 2021

For further information and registration,

please contact our website:





  • 01 Feb 2022 until 04 Feb 2022

    9th ESO–ESMINT–ESNR Stroke Winter School

Past Congresses

Ist Congress

September 6, 1969

Colmar, France

Presidents: J.P. Braun & A. Wackenheim


IInd Congress

September 24-25, 1971

London, United Kingdom

President: J.D.W. Bull


IIIrd Congress

August 23-24, 1972 

Bologna, Italy            

President: G. Ruggiero


IVth Congress

September 28-29, 1973

Frankfurt, Germany

President: H. Hacker


Vth Congress

September 4-6, 1975    

Gello, Norway

President: P. Amundsen


VIth Congress

September 16-18, 1976

Dijon, France

President: J. Bories


VIIth Congress

September 9-10, 1977

Barcelona, Spain

President: M. Rovira


VIIIth Congress

September 7-8, 1979

Strasbourg, France                      

President: A. Wackenheim


IXth Congress                  

September 12-13, 1980

Brussels, Belgium

President: G. Cornelis


Xth Congress

September 25-26, 1981

Milan, Italy

President: A. Passerini


XIth Congress

September 15-17, 1983

Bern, Switzerland

President: H. Huber


XIIth Congress

September 27-29, 1984

Prague, former Czechoslovakia

President: J. Jirout



XIIIth Congress

September 11-15, 1985  

Amsterdam, The Netherlands          

President: J. Valk


XIVth Congress

September 8-12, 1987

Udine, Italy

President: M. Leonardi


XVth Congress

September 13-17, 1988    

Wurzburg, Germany

President: M. Nadjmi


XVIth Congress

July 2-6, 1989

Paris, France 

President: E.A. Cabanis


XVIIth  Congress

October 8-13, 1991

Zurich, Switzerland    

President: A. Valavanis


XVIIIth Congress

September 8-12, 1992

Stockholm, Sweden                    

President: K. Ericson


XIXth Congress                  

September 8-12, 1993

Bruges, Belgium

Presidents: B. Appel & D. Balériaux


XXth Congress

June 14-18, 1994

Nancy, France

President: L. Picard



XXIst Congress   

September 20-23, 1995   

Budapest, Hungary         

President: J. Kenéz 


XXIInd Congress

September 17-21, 1996

Milan, Italy

President: G. Scotti



XXIIIrd Congress

September 16-20, 1997   

Oxford, United Kingdom

President: J.V. Byrne


XXIVth Congress 

September 23-26, 1998

Lisbon, Portugal

President: A. Goulão



XXVth Congress

September 7-11, 1999    

Vienna, Austria 

President: E. Schindler


XXVIth Congress  

September 10-13, 2000

Oslo, Norway

President: P.H. Nakstad   


XXVIIth Congress (with ESHNR)

September 13-16, 2001   

Ancona, Italy     

President: U. Salvolini


XXVIIIth Congress

September 11-14, 2003   

Istanbul, Turkey                         

President: E. T. Tali


XXIXth Congress                        

September 8-11, 2004

Aachen, Germany

President: A. Thron


XXXth Congress  

September 15 -18, 2005

Barcelona, Spain

President: J. Ruscalleda


XXXIst Congress

September 13-16, 2006

Geneva, Switzerland

President: D. Rüfenacht